The MSGC has legislation law-making authority over membership, hunting, fishing, trapping, timber and other matters relating to land.  The Metis Settlements General Council may enact laws (General Council policies) that are binding on the General Council and every Settlement.  These laws (General Council policies) are equal in status to other provincial laws. 

Current Organizational Structure

The Metis Settlements General Council (MSGC) is the political and administrative body for the collective interests of the eight Metis Settlements consisting of Buffalo Lake, East Prairie, Elizabeth, Fishing Lake, Gift Lake, Kikino, Paddle Prairie and Peavine.  The MSGC is a pro-active government that helps develop, implement, and distribute programs and services to the eight Alberta settlements which are the only land-based Metis in Canada. 



General Council has 44 members consisting of 40 elected members from the Settlements, and 4 elected Executive members.  General Council advances the collective interests and rights of Settlement members by working with other stakeholders to promote good governance and working partnerships that ensure the continued viability and vibrancy of the Metis Settlements.